

TAR University College In the Limelight

theSun 13 March 2018

Recognition for TAR UC founding leaders

AS a prelude to its 50th anniversary, Tunku Abdul Rahman University College (TAR UC) honoured its founding leaders at a recent ceremony held at its Kuala Lumpur main campus.

The ceremony paid tribute to 10 founding leaders of the then TAR College who contributed

tremendously, as either pioneers or longest-serving leaders in the history of the institution, comprising:

Tunku Abdul Rahman Putra Al-Haj - namesake of the institution.

Tun Tan Siew Sin - founder and first president of TAR College.

Tan Sri Khaw Kai Boh chairman on the working team for higher education planning and chairman of the Interim Council.

Tan Sri Lee San Choon member of the Board of Trustees of TAR College from 1972 to 2015.

Tun Dr Ling Liong Sik - longest serving chairman of TAR College Council from 1986 to

Datuk Dr Lew Sip Hon - first TAR College Council chairman from 1972 to 1983.

Tan Sri Dr Ng Lay Swee - first head of School of Arts and Science.

Datuk Kum Boo - first head of School of Technology.

Dr Thong Saw Pak - first principal of TAR College.

Chong Yean Seong - first head of School of Business Studies.

The event also served as a reminder of the struggles the institution went through in the early years after its inception in 1969, and the growth that ensued from the contribution of its founding leaders which formed the foundation that built TAR UC to its current stature.

As a gesture of respect and gratitude to the eminent men, to key buildings within its main campus have been earmarked to be named after them.

Transport Minister Datuk Seri Liow Tiong Lai was present to officiate the event and in his welcome address, he shared about the growth and achievements of TAR UC in providing quality and affordable education, which underscores its contribution to developing human capital for the nation.

"Over the course of five decades, TAR UC is still relevant, and the university college continues to rise up and receive recognition as one of the most prestigious institutions of higher learning in the country, as well as abroad.

"All the achievements would not have been possible without the visionary foresight and strong leadership of its founding leaders who laid the firm foundation on which TAR UC can proudly stand strong and grow further from," Liow said. The naming ceremony will be the first of many events which will be held from now until 2019, building a momentum leading up to TAR UC's golden celebration scheduled for Feb 24, 2019.



Liow (sixth, left) launches TAR UC's 50th anniversary as Datuk Dr Tan Chik Heok (seventh, left) looks on, in the presence of (from left) Adrian Yeo Eng Hui, Datuk Dr Gue See Sew, Tan Sri Lau Yin Pin, Tan Sri Kong Cho Ha, Datuk Seri Dr Hou Kok Chung, Kum, Ng, Datin Paduka Tan Siok Choo, Dorothy Lew, Datuk Yap Kuak Fong and Khaw Chay Tee.





